Jump to Main Content
Decrease font size Reset font size Increase font size
CUS:  Centre for Urban Schooling Home| OISE| U of T| Quercus| Site Map | Contact Us | Feeling Distressed?
INSPIRING EDUCATION | oise.utoronto.ca
Centre for Urban Schooling


In 2016-2017 CUS awarded one $7,500 scholarship to promote excellence in teaching in the urban classroom to Benjamin Lee Hicks. Benjamin is an experienced teacher completing the Master's program with an interest in questions of social justice and school success for students from economically disadvantaged neighborhoods attending underperforming schools.



William Waters Annual Symposium on Urban Education 2009 - 2014

The symposium involved a visit from a distinguished academic of international stature, who galvanized energy around identified themes linked to student engagement through:

• a large public lecture with invited education stakeholders from the provincial, district, local school and university communities;

• professional development sessions aimed at pre-service, in-service and university teachers to challenge and inform current local practices;

• a networking meeting and reception to create new opportunities and solidify existing collaborations;

• informal meetings with students and teachers both at OISE and in local schools.

These symposiums were made possible through the very generous support of Phyllis and William Waters.


Featured Lecturers

  • March 2009 - Dr. Michelle Fine
                        Link to view video recording



Past William Waters Scholarship Winners

2015-2016 William Waters Scholarship Winners:

Veronica Fredericks

Benjamin Lee Hicks

Tyler Walkland


2014-2015 William Waters Scholarship Winners:

Ahmed Ahmed

Dargine Rajeswaran


2013-2014 William Waters Scholarship Winners:

Sharry-Ann Taylor (Ed Admin)

Roopa Cheema (HSSJE)

Tina Sidhu (Ed Admin)


2012-2013 William Waters Scholarship Winners:

Sarah Popoff

Danielle Blair

Natasha Burford

Amanda Parris


2011-2012 William Waters Scholarship Winners: 

Julia Hainer-Violand

Melanie Willson

Jozef Konyari

Ambeika Sukhram


2010-2011 William Waters Scholarship Winners

Ambika Jain

Mary Ampomah

Rhiannon Maton



OISEcms v.1.0 | Site last updated: Tuesday, October 2, 2018 Disclaimer | Webmaster

© OISE University of Toronto
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto, 252 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1V6 CANADA